Restaurants at Cardiff, Penarth and TauntonBOOK ONLINE

CookeryClass Reviews

Highly enjoyable ‘Cooking Experience’

5 of 5 stars, reviewed 19 June 2017

I received a voucher for the Mint & Mustard Cooking Experience for my birthday, which I attended yesterday afternoon. It was a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon with a nice crowd of people (8 others). Informative, fun and most importantly….very tasty! We got to replicate a dish demonstrated by Chef as well as a side dish, taught how to make chapattis and properly cook rice, all under the watchful eye of Chef and the lovely front of house guy – we even got to take it all home to enjoy. To finish the afternoon off we sat in the restaurant to enjoy a two course meal together.

A highly enjoyable experience – a lovely gift for any keen cooks or curry enthusiasts, of any cooking ability!!

Cookery School

5 of 5 stars, reviewed 13 June 2017

Not many people know about the cookery school aspect of Mint and Mustard, but it’s well worth a visit. This was my first visit, but there were folks there who had done courses before and were back for more. This is always a good sign.
The night started with a complimentary soft drink, and a masterclass from the group’s executive chef on how to cook tonight’s main dish – a Keralan chicken curry.
Then it was down to us. We had to prepare the vegetables and cook our curry. All this was done with expert guidance from Chef and Jan the restaurant manager who was very knowledgable about the dishes as well. All the while we were regaled with interesting anecdotes about Keralan food and culinary habits from Jan.
Curry cooked, it was on to preparing Tarka Dal. This time with no demonstration, but full support from the professionals.
We rounded the evening off preparing fresh chapati to go with the food, then packaged it all up to take home to eat.
The support from the professionals was top notch, the food super tasty, and all the dirty pots and pans vanished and returned clean. What more can you want?!
The staff were super-friendly and supportive and all attendees created food they were happy with, no matter their skill level.
Upon mentioning that my favourite dish in the restaurant is Bombay Chat, Jan promptly ordered some for us all to try, along with an onion pakora. A nice gesture.
If I had to be critical, the only downside is that the tables used for prep are dining tables and not really suited for standing at, particularly when you’re 6’5″, but that’s a minor gripe.
I would definitely go back to learn more. I now feel I have a very good curry in my locker for dinner parties, which was my main aim for attending.

“Saturday Kitchen”

5 of 5 stars, Reviewed 20 August 2016

I was one of a group of 9. Excellent host explained the dishes and answered any questions. The dish was demonstrated and then off we went at our own cooking station in our Mnt and Mustard Aprons. We cooked a keralan chicken, a mushroom and spinach dish and chapatis. The chef and host were very attentive and helpful. We had little tastes to help us through the afternoon. Our dishes were packed up to take home home and then we sat down to a two course meal. An excellent tasteful experience!

A cookery course followed by dinner. Great fun

5 of 5 stars, reviewed 01 March 2016

My wife purchased a Master Class for our wedding anniversary so whilst in Cardiff for the Wales v France match we decided to use the voucher. Penarth for those who don’t know it is a rather genteel area of Cardiff with an esplanade,and lovely gardens leading down to the sea. Mint and Mustard is in the town. Our cookery course was only their second one and it had the rather pleasant feel of a new venture. It’s held monthly on a Sunday afternoon to one side of the restaurant. There were 10 of us plus the staff and chef. I’ve no doubt the dishes change monthly but our fish curry ( or vegetarian as applicable) was easy to cook especially as the ingredients were pre-prepared. The accompanying dal and chapati were also easy. The chef and his team were attentive. Great fun especially with a few glasses of wine. The afternoon finished with the chef cooking a meal for the attendees. Living in west London we have plenty of good ‘Indian’ restaurants to choose from. This cuisine here is from Kerala in the south, so a little different to the more common North Indian food.

Masterly master class

5 of 5 stars, reviewed 23 January 2016

Really enjoyed the cookery master class at the Mint and Mustard this afternoon. Highly recommended as a gift. We cooked a prawn curry, onion bhaji and chapati.

Not British-Indian Food. Indian Food. Delicious!

5 of 5 stars, reviewed 22 February 2015

My girlfriend and I were bought some gift vouchers for a cookery experience at this restaurant, and it was an amazing day and highly recommend it. However, as part of that experience we also enjoyed a 2 course meal, which had various taster dishes included. It was wow! Because of our back-stage pass type of access and discussions with the chef, it was clear to me what the restaurant was all about, and it isn’t offering the standard british-curry menu selection we are all familiar with. I love that menu, who doesn’t, but we have an abundance of those in the UK, so it is refreshing to see one offering something different. I can’t really review service, because while it was good we were the only 8 in the restaurant at the time, but I can review their food. It is amazing indian cuisine, and while you won’t be familiar with many of the dishes, just ask for recommendations, the staff there were more than helpful to us and I’m sure they would guide your tastes. I felt that the food was better flavoured and less heavy than a standard british inidian meal would be, and possibly the most addictive food I’ve ever eaten. I think given enough I would eventually be physically sick because I couldn’t stop myself eating more. So, if you want something different from your local indian that has dishes you’ve probably never tried before, this is your place. Check it out!

“Great Cooking Experience – Mint and Mustard Cardiff”

5 of 5 stars, reviewed 7 June 2014

Both my Husband and myself were treated to a cooking experience which we were given as a gift from my Daughter as a Christmas present. This was a fantastic day from start to finish. We were met by Jo who cordially welcomed us, she explained we could start with a drink, then we met up with other people on the same course, the day was very relaxed. The Chef was very experienced and taught us best ways of chopping, slicing etc.
We watched chef cook a fantastic chicken curry dish then all went back to our stations to try and repeat it for ourselves, it was almost like being on Master chef. Each step was monitored by 2 chefs and when finished the food was boxed up, we then made a Dal dish and chapati ‘s along with rice which were bagged for us to take home. Jo was very supportive taking lots of photos on our own individual cameras and refreshing us with drinks and giving us encouragement along the way, we were made aware that alcoholic drinks were charged so there was no shock factor.

The day was paced really well and was finished off with a meal of chicken,beef,rice, potatoes, Dal, Nan & chapati s & dessert as well. we couldn’t fault the day, and would certainly purchase this as an ingenious gift for a special occasion. It isn’t a cheap course but a wonderful experience to be taught by the professionals.
Thanks to Jo and all at Mint and Mustard for making us feel very welcome and informing us where to buy all the fabulous ingredients locally.

“Cooking Experience”

5 of 5 stars, reviewed 17 May 2014

I have just returned from The Mint & Mustard Cooking Experience and thoroughly enjoyed it. It’s a once a month event, that is professionally run, and it gave me a real insight into the intricacies of Indian cooking. Not just a demonstration, you are given the opportunity to cook the curries yourself and it finishes with a superb meal prepared by the Restaurant chefs.
You get to take home your own cooked curries as well. This is no run of the mill Indian restaurant, it’s a quality culinary experience and my wife bought this day for me as a Christmas present – Great !

“Went there for the Saturday Cooking Course and enjoyed a meal”

Reviewed 18 May 2013 tripadvisor

I was given a birthday present – an afternoon’s cookery course at the Mint and Mustard. Went there and joined 13 other people for the afternoon for an excellent course – cooked rice, made chapati, made a vegetable dish and a king prawn curry. Was wonderful. The day ended with a 2 course meal at the restaurant, prepared beautifully for us by the chef. A great day out. Highly recommended.

It’s On Cardiff learns the secrets of Mint and Mustard’s award-winning contemporary
Indian Cuisine with one of their fantastic Cookery Experiences Classes

17 June 2013 – It’s On Cardiff

The Mint and Mustard is one of the UK’s most critically acclaimed Indian restaurants. Already recognised as one of Cardiff’s finest dining experiences, their innovative approach to Indian Cusine has seen Mint and Mustard pick up major awards from Michelin, The Observer, Sunday Times, Tatler, the Good Food Guide and many more. Described by Tatler as “knock-your-block-off brilliant”, Mint and Mustard has successfully redefined Indian cuisine as we know it with their unique menu of fresh, contemporary and distinctly different dishes.

To say I had a fantastic time at The Mint and Mustard Cookery School this weekend, well that would probably be the understatement of the year! Who knew learning could be fun?!

The day kicked off at 1pm with an introduction to one of Britain’s finest Chefs, the award-winning Santosh Nair and our host for the day, Sue Tasher (Co-owner of Mint & Mustard At Home, Penarth).

“Cooking Experience”

Reviewed 20 April 2013 tripadvisor

Came here for a cooking experience. This was great fun and learnt some really good tips. We had some snacks followed by lunch. I would recommend this experience and the food was really good